top of page
166C77DB-9A28-46D7-AC05-CF31C42A6DE8.JPG

ALL THE INFO

Who am I?

I am an Advertising student at Appalachian State University with a love for food! I hope to one day work for a non-profit and spread their message to spread goodness. Right now I manage the social media for Marilyn's Sweet Addictions in my hometown of Lincolnton, NC which lets me combine my two loves! I hope this blog gives you insight into gems that I have found at college and in my travels. Buckle up, and get ready to eat!

  • Writer's pictureElizabeth Noles

A Very Soybean Sunday



This weekend my little sister came to visit because she is looking at attending Appalachian State as well. (Roll 'Neers) So while she was up on the mountain we decided to grab lunch. Some backstory: where we're from there isn't a lot of vegetarian or vegan options. This was never a problem back home because it wasn't something that people really do, but in Boone the availability of absolutely delicious options is endless! We decided on Wild Craft Eatery, which is located right next to Boone Bagelry on King Street in Boone, North Carolina. Co-creators Michael and Nova Nelson have made it their mission to highlight the bounty of the high country and BOY have they succeeded!

From left to right, we had the Avocado Tempeh Melt, an amazing slice of chocolate cake, and the Tempeh Gouda Tacos. For my lunch I had the tempeh melt and it was insane, the textures of tempeh, onions, and avocados hit every note especially on top of their thick cut homemade bread. The fresh cilantro sealed the deal (I may be obsessed with cilantro but lets keep that our secret.) On the side I had a cup of the tomato smoked gouda soup, which I had higher expectations for, but anything beside that sandwich has a lot to live up to. My sister had the Tempeh Gouda Tacos and was blown away by how much she loved tempeh. For those who don't know, tempeh is an Indonesian soy bean product that serves as a meat replacement. The star of these tacos in my mind was the purple cabbage slaw and their house salsa! The crunch and sweetness these two elements brought to the dish were undeniably genius and created balance in a spicy heavy dish.

So I'm sure ya'll are wondering about this gorgeous chocolate cake? It held and amazing secret. . . TOFU! Hidden in the thick Kahlú laced chocolate icing was actually packed with protein. You would never know it to taste it so I'm SO glad that or waitress filled us in so that I could share it with ya'll! I am confident that anything at Wild Craft Eatery will blow your mind and leave you feeling super connected to the Boone community and environment. Go forth and learn to love some soybean products!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Carolyn Clark Public Speaker

Meeting Carolyn Clark in our Social Media Marketing class was an amazing opportunity to connect with a Com Dept Alumni who had loads of work experience! She started by giving us an overview of her pas

Guest Speaker Deleon

Our most recent guest speaker, Riley Deleon, was very different than speakers in the past. The question and answer style discussion really dove into how to stand out as an influencer instead of reject

Home: Blog2
Home: Inner_about
Home: GetSubscribers_Widget
Home: Contact
Signing Off - Liz Noles
00:0000:00

WELCOME TO LIZ'S LUNCH BREAK

Buckle up, it's going to be a wild ride!

bottom of page